Chocolate!

Hugs and KissesI am a chocolate snob.  However, my mom would say I am a food snob.  I can’t help if something new doesn’t measure up to my favorites.  Once I’ve established the best, no sense lowering my standards.  If chocolate was one of the food groups, I would be the healthiest person in the world!

So, to chocolate.  I love Hershey’s Kisses, Hershey’s Hugs and Plain M&M’s.  I like Snickers, Rolos, Nestle Crunch, Cadbury, and Dove Milk Chocolate.  Milk  chocolate, not dark chocolate; I don’t really care that dark chocolate is supposed to be better for me, it isn’t sweet or creamy.

Nestle’s makes the best chips for baking.  Once again, I prefer the milk chocolate in my Toll house Cookies, but I will use Semi-Sweet when I make fudge.  Hungry yet?

As for the boxed candy, I like See’s the best.  However, I can only purchase it online here in Pennsylvania, but $23/pound?  I remember when it was $7/pound.  You can keep your Russell Stover, Ghirardelli (but I will go to Ghirardelli Square in SF for a chocolate milk shake!), Whitman’s (yuck), Godiva no thank you, Lindt is not even in the same league, and even the local favorite, Gardner’s Candies, doesn’t measure up to See’s.  Also, I don’t like a bunch of stuff in my chocolate; absolutely no mint, no nuts (except in a Snickers), no fruits.  Caramel is ok, white chocolate is ok.

DJ doesn’t think any white chocolate is good, he thinks they all taste like wax.  It is more difficult to find a good white chocolate than a good milk chocolate.  The best I’ve found is in Hershey’s Hugs.  And, I think white chocolate needs to be balanced with milk chocolate, thus the Hugs.

images

M&M’s Plain are the best, they can keep all the fancy flavors.  I don’t even like the Mega M&M’s, the chocolate just doesn’t taste the same.  But I do like all the color changes for the different holidays.  DJ likes the almond ones, which I may resort to only if I am completely out of plain ones.

DJ keeps me supplied with chocolate.  If I go more than 3 days without, I get terrible migraine headaches.  So bad that I get nauseous and have to sleep off the pain.

"M&M's melt in your mouth, not in your hands!"

“M&M’s melt in your mouth, not in your hands!”

I can always find one or more of my favorite chocolates in my Christmas stocking!  Merry Christmas!

Comments Welcomed and Appreciated

