Share Your World – 2015 Week #5

Cee’s Questions for Share Your World – 2015 Week #5

Do you prefer shopping or going to a park?

I don’t like to shop, I’m a “get in, get out” person.  I have a list, and even if I don’t stick to it, I’m still in and out quickly.  My mom likes to browse up and down all the aisles, even if she doesn’t need anything particular.  With clothes, I know what store is likely to have the item(s) I want, go there, grab what I need and get out.  Malls are for walking when it is too hot or too cold outside.  Like the “shoe” gene, I did not inherit the shopping gene.

So, the short answer, I would prefer going to a park.

SlippersIf you were a shoe, what kind would you be and why?

I would probably be a slipper.  Warm and soft and cozy.  Because who doesn’t want to be warm, soft, and cozy?  Especially with the temperatures in single digits and snow on the ground?

What’s the story behind a time when you got locked out?

Honestly, I couldn’t think of a single time I’ve ever been locked out.  In my K through 12 years, my house key was on a chain around my neck and it was required to lock the door.  When I started driving, you had to lock the door with a key.  Anyone remember having to stretch across the passenger seat to unlock the door for your friend?  And with the invention power locks, the key could unlock all doors from the driver’s side.  And now, with remote and keyless entry, who gets locked out anymore?

And then I remembered when my son accidentally locked himself in the bathroom.  TheBathroom-Door-Lock-2010 house was built in 1946 and had the original mortise style lock on the bathroom door.  I don’t recall why he was in the bathroom by himself, but he shut the door and started playing with the door knob.  You had to turn the handle just right to get out, and of course he couldn’t, so he fiddled with the lock.  Once he locked it, he couldn’t figure out how to turn it the other way.  I was telling him what to do, but at that point, he just couldn’t grasp the idea of what I wanted him to do.  The skeleton key wouldn’t work, the dumb thing had to be wiggled just right.  I think he was only locked in for about 15 minutes, and he wasn’t panicked; I was more angry than panicked.  You can see the result of my effort to get him out.  Needless to say, the locking mechanism was taken out.

Do you prefer eating foods with nuts or no nuts? 

There aren’t many foods I like with nuts.  I saute green beans with Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce and chopped peanuts, and I like chicken salad with grapes and chopped peanuts or cashews.  But nuts do NOT belong in ice cream, or chocolate, or cookies or brownies.  The nuts get in my teeth and interfere with the taste of these things.  I also do not like mint in my chocolate.  But you didn’t ask.  I do like to eat nuts by themselves.

 

One thought on “Share Your World – 2015 Week #5

Comments Welcomed and Appreciated

