Share Your World – 2015 Week #4

In answer to Cee’s invitation to Share Your World, 2015 Week #4

Where did you live at age five?  Is it the same place or town you live now?

I lived in Oakland, California when I was 5.  It was a safe neighborhood then; I walked 3 blocks to school by myself or with other neighborhood kids. (I confirmed this with my mom in case my memory was faulty.)  We moved overseas when I was 6 and returned to a neighborhood with barred windows and doors when I was 8.  So my parents moved us back to Pennsylvania where both sides of their family lived.

You are invited to a party that will be attended by many fascinating people you never met.  Would you attend this party if you were to go by yourself?

I have social anxiety about going to parties or events, with someone or by myself.  I would go by myself, but I would stress over it for the days leading up to the event.  I usually try to figure out an excuse to not go, right up to the last minute, but in the end I force myself to go.  If I get there and it is too much for me, I leave at the earliest, appropriate moment, and not a minute longer.  In most cases though, I stick it out and I am usually happy I went.

Did you grow up in a small or big town? Did you like it?

I grew up in Pleasanton, California, from age 11 to 42.  It was a growing suburb and considered a bedroom community for many years.  It was a planned community, slowly adding housing tracts and business parks to make it a place where people lived and worked and wouldn’t have to commute.

I loved it, growing up in the warm, California sun.  As an adult, it was nice to live where I worked; commuting became a nightmare on highways that expanded from 2 lanes in each direction to 4 to 6 lanes.  Can you say Gridlock?

I moved to Pennsylvania in 2005.  I will never return to city living; that anxiety I mentioned previously, goes through the roof when I visit relatives in the DC area.  Give me a 2 lane country road and a house surrounded by woods and I am happy!

As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I never had a plan, and that is probably why I changed my college major 4 times.  I graduated with a Liberal Arts Degree, just so I wouldn’t have to spend another 4 years starting over.  Looking back, I probably should have gotten into computers and grown with the industry from its infancy.  Or I might have enjoyed Occupational and Physical Therapy, but I didn’t even know what that was back then.  I did know that I never wanted to be in Sales, but ended up in a sales position for 5 years anyway.  Now I’m a stay at home mom, caring for my son who has Autism, and Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I never answer the question about what I am grateful for.  Never have, never will.  But as for looking forward…I hope tomorrow will always be better than today, which hopefully was better than yesterday.

4 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2015 Week #4

  1. I’m really enjoyed reading your answers. I grew up (from age 9 through 20) in Oxnard California. A suburb much as you described in Southern California. I’ve not back there since 1980. So I can imagine the changes and the grid lock. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Like

Comments Welcomed and Appreciated

