Mirror, Mirror

20070721094

Blogging 101: Make a Daily Prompt Personal.  The assignment for January 18, Publish a post based on your own, personalized take on a Daily Prompt.”  I selected  Mirror, Mirror.

Finish this sentence: “When I look in the mirror, I . . . “ don’t see the person I feel on the inside.

I am worn out, tired, exhausted.  Sure, I see the dark circles and sagging eyes, so I cover up the darkness and put on a smile.   What else can I do?

No one really wants to know the truth when they ask, “How are you?” anyway.  They just want to hurry through your answer so they can tell you how everything is great (or miserable) and spread the latest gossip.  If I ever told someone how I really am, they would politely offer sympathy and either turn tail and I’d never see them again, or they would change the subject back to their own perfect lives, and then I would never see them again.

I don’t see the anxiety and depression that I battle every day in my mind.  I see a woman who somehow just keeps going, with determination and stubbornness, because there is no alternative.  Chin up, smile,  make sure the mirror only shows the public mask.

It isn’t all doom and gloom either.  Occasionally, there is a rested, calm and happy woman staring back at me.  Those are the days for which I look forward; I have kept the battle in my mind.  The smile, the sparkle in my eyes, are genuine.  Not just part of the public mask, but I dare you to find the difference.  I’m that good; I’ve had years to practice.

6 thoughts on “Mirror, Mirror

  1. There’s a quote by Samuel Beckett that always struck me: ‘I can’t go on. I must go on. I go on.’ But that’s literature. Your post is an illustration from life. The different battles that people face. The strength they have to find within. And when they do, it grows stronger? Let us hope so.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments Welcomed and Appreciated

