Long Time, No Write…

I haven’t been in the mood to write, and it isn’t for lack of material. Although I’ve been busy, school stuff for Wendell, birthdays, picnic planning, yard work, I just haven’t been inspired. I haven’t even been reading my favorite blogs. So what is up?

Let’s see, we had Special Olympics Basketball in March (or April?), therapeutic horse riding every other Sunday, Track and Field by Special Needs Association of Huntingdon County in May, Little League Challenger Division Friday evenings, school ending, ESY starting, a new TSS, and this is just the goings on in Wendell’s life.

We had two back to back days of family picnics, one day my moms side, the next my dad’s side. It was the first time most of the family had been to the new house at Hollow Pointe. It was the first good weather weekend of the summer too. I can’t speak for anyone else, but I had a great time, I did not stress as I usually might have.

Yesterday (6/27), it rained 2.28 inches in 5 hours. The creek flooded, water covered the road between our house and the neighbors. The pond would have flooded if it didn’t have a drain. The total rain for the month is almost 7.5 inches, I know this because we have my dad’s Davis Weather Station, During the storm yesterday, the screen showed the message, “It’s raining cats and dogs!” I kid you not!

DJ ordered a camera (Canon T3i) on June 7 for my birthday, which was last week, but the camera only shipped today. I’ve called 6 times in the last 2 weeks and sent 2 emails. I was told on 2 previous occasions that it had shipped, and I guess I’ve been enough of a pain that they decided to ship today. I even have a tracking number. There still has been no response to the emails. So, if you are looking to purchase a camera, even though the price is good, DO NOT order from AjRichies.com. I’ll let you know how I like the camera if/when it arrives and I have some play time with it.

And speaking of cameras and therefore pictures, I’ve been taking quite a few of all the activity but haven’t downloaded anything yet. Just general lack of motivation all around on my part. So, when I get around to pulling the pictures off the camera, and editing them with my newest version of Photoshop Elements, I’ll be sure to post a few. And, not only will I have a new camera to learn soon, I’ve also got to figure out the changes from PSE7 to PSE11.

Coming up in a few weeks Wendell will have Boy Scout Camp. Additionally, we are working toward his Hiking Merit Badge this summer. I have to review the requirements and make suggested modifications to the counselor to allow for Wendell’s disability. For example, this kid will not likely be capable of one 20 mile hike, but certainly could do ten 2 mile hikes. We are working with his instructors of the therapeutic horse lessons to modify requirements for the Horsemanship Merit Badge too. He’s been riding for 8 years now, so I think he should be able to earn that as well.

Maybe I just needed to sit down at the keyboard and tap away my lackadaisical mood. Hopefully, I am once again inspired to write.  I’ll keep you posted!

Comments Welcomed and Appreciated

